The Board of Education of Anne Arundel County today elected Teresa Milio Birge as president and Debbie Ritchie as vice president for the 2013-2014 school year.

Birge, who was appointed to the Board in July 2008, succeeds Board Member Andrew Pruski as president. She served as vice president of the Board in 2010-11 and 2012-13.

A resident of Anne Arundel County for more than 40 years, she is a graduate of Arundel High School. She holds a bachelor’s degree in political science and mass communication from Towson University, and a master’s degree in public administration from the University of Delaware. She is currently the part-time correspondence coordinator and publications editor for the Maryland Department of Budget and Management. 

A resident of Seven Oaks, Ms. Birge serves on the Odenton Town Center Plan Oversight Committee.  She is a member of the Seven Oaks Elementary School PTA and volunteers in the school. 

Ritchie, a Pasadena resident, was appointed to the Board in 2010. A resident of Anne Arundel County for over 40 years, Mrs. Ritchie is a graduate of Severna Park High School and Anne Arundel Community College. She holds an associate’s degree in nursing and is a registered nurse with the Department of Veterans Affairs Medical Center in Baltimore. She has served on the PTA at Jacobsville Elementary, the Anne Arundel County Council of PTAs, and completed a two-year term as president of the Maryland Parent Teacher Association in 2009. She is also a board member of the 21st Century Education Foundation.

The meeting was the first for new student Board member Else Drooff of Arnold, a rising senior at Broadneck High School. She is the 40th student member on the Board of Education, the fourth from Broadneck High School, and the only student on a local school board in the nation with full voting rights.

Also serving on the Board are: Andrew Pruski, a Gambrills resident; Amalie Brandenburg of Severna Park; Kevin Jackson of Edgewater; Stacy Korbelak of Odenton; Patricia Nalley of Annapolis; and Solon Webb of Annapolis.