Print This News Release Print This News Release


Else Drooff, a junior at Broadneck High School, was elected by members of the Chesapeake Regional Association of Student Councils today to be the 2013-2014 student member of the Anne Arundel County Board of Education (SMOB).

Approximately 290 students attended today’s election at South River High School, and 270 students cast votes. Scott Lanoue of Broadneck High School and Wilglory Tanjong of Arundel High School were the other finalists for the position.

Drooff’s name will be forwarded to Governor Martin O’Malley, who must make the formal appointment. Drooff would be the fourth Broadneck High School student to serve on the Board, and the first since Nicole St. Pierre in 1995-96. She would succeed current student member Nick Lefavor of Old Mill High School, whose one-year term expires in June.

Drooff is a four-time recipient of the Carson Scholarship Fund Award, given to students who are active in their communities and maintain exceptional grades. She has served as class vice president at Broadneck in each of the past two years, and is a member of the National Honor Society and Spanish Honor Society.

Upon appointment, Drooff will become the 40th student member of the Board. Students have held a seat on the Board since 1974, when Andover High School’s Jeffrey Robinson served in an advisory capacity. Anne Arundel’s student member has had full voting rights since 1975, and is the only member of a local school board in the nation to have that status.

If appointed, Drooff would assume her seat on July 1.

Student Member of the Board of Education History