- AACPS News Releases - http://www.aacpsnews.org/pressr -


Thirty-four public school teachers and seven independent school teachers will be honored on Wednesday, April 26, 2017, as Anne Arundel County Public Schools and the Annapolis & Anne Arundel County Chamber of Commerce celebrate the 31st annual Excellence in Education banquet at the BWI Marriott in Linthicum.

This event will also honor local businesses that have forged critical partnerships with schools across the county, directly benefitting AACPS’ 81,000 students. Nominations for Business Partner of the Year will be accepted this winter and details will be available here [1] in early December.

The Excellence in Education event will culminate with the announcements of the 2017 Anne Arundel County Public and Independent School Teachers of the Year. The Public School Teacher of the Year will represent the county in the Maryland State Teacher of the Year competition.

“There is true magic happening inside our classrooms every day, and the opportunity to honor so many outstanding teachers in one setting is something I look forward to every year,” Superintendent of Schools George Arlotto said. “Our teachers go to incredible lengths to help our children succeed, and everyone in our county owes them a debit of gratitude.”

The following 34 public school educators have been nominated by their schools and communities:

The following independent school educators have been nominated by their schools and communities:

Semifinalists will be announced in late December. Finalists will be chosen from that group and announced in early March.

For sponsorship information, please call Jennifer Sheppard, Program & Event Coordinator for the Annapolis & Anne Arundel County Chamber of Commerce, at 410-266-3960 [2]. Ticket information will be available in December.