Nominations are now being accepted for the 2017 Anne Arundel County Public Schools Teacher of the Year and the Independent Schools Teacher of the Year awards.

Nominees and winners will be honored at the 31st annual Excellence in Education awards, set for Wednesday, April 26, 2017, at the BWI Marriott hotel in Linthicum. Last year, more than 40 top educators and a host of businesses were nominated for awards.

The 2017 AACPS Teacher of the Year will represent the county in the Maryland State Teacher of the Year competition. AACPS has had four finalists for the state honor in the last five years.

The Excellence in Education Awards are presented annually in partnership by Anne Arundel County Public Schools and the Annapolis & Anne Arundel County Chamber of Commerce. In addition to outstanding teachers, the awards honor local businesses that have forged critical partnerships that directly benefit AACPS’ approximately 81,000 students.

Parents who wish to nominate teachers should contact their child’s principal. Nomination forms are available here.  Nominations are due by 3 p.m. on Thursday, November 3, 2016.

The nomination process for the business partnership awards will be announced at a later date.