Clerk of the Court Robert Duckworth will administer the oath of office to incoming Board of Education members Eric Grannon and Carolyn Williams at a ceremony at 10 a.m. on Wednesday, July 6, 2016, at the county courthouse in Annapolis.

Governor Larry Hogan has appointed Grannon to a five-year term representing District 33 on the nine-member Board. His term runs through June 30, 2021.

Williams, a rising senior in Glen Burnie High School’s BioMedical Allied Health magnet program, will serve a one-year term as Anne Arundel County’s 43rd student member of the Board (SMOB). She was selected for appointment by members of the Chesapeake Regional Association of Student Councils (CRASC).

Williams was the Programs of Choice Liaison to CRASC during the 2015-2016 school year, and also served on Glen Burnie High School’s BMAH Advisory Board and was a member of the Student Government Association. She will be the third Glen Burnie High School student to serve as SMOB. Former Glen Burnie students Sanford J. Witcher (1992-93) and Brandon Van Bibber (2001-02) also held that position.

Students have held a seat on the Board since 1974, when Andover High School’s Jeffrey Robinson served in an advisory capacity. Anne Arundel’s student member has had full voting rights since 1975, and is the only member of a local school board in the nation to have that status.

Grannon and Williams will take part in their first Board meeting on July 13, 2016.