- AACPS News Releases - http://www.aacpsnews.org/pressr -


Thirty-nine public school teachers and three independent school teachers will be honored on Monday, April 25, 2016, as Anne Arundel County Public Schools and the Annapolis & Anne Arundel County Chamber of Commerce celebrate the 30th annual Excellence in Education banquet at the BWI Marriott in Linthicum.

This event will also honor local businesses that have forged critical partnerships with schools across the county, directly benefitting AACPS’ 80,000 students.  The Chamber of Commerce is currently accepting online nominations for Business Partner of the Year. To nominiate a business partner for the 2016 award, click here [1].

The Excellence in Education event will culminate with the announcements of the 2016 Anne Arundel County Public and Independent School Teachers of the Year.  The Public School Teacher of the Year will represent the county in the Maryland State Teacher of the Year competition.

“Teachers across our county do incredible work for our students every single day on so many levels,” Superintendent George Arlotto said. “It is an honor to be able to pay tribute to them at this annual event.”

The following public school educators have been nominated by their schools and communities:

The following independent school educators have been nominated by their schools and communities:

Semifinalists from the field of 39 public school nominees will be announced in late December.  Finalists will be chosen from that group and announced in late February or early March.

For sponsorship information, please call Jennifer Sheppard, Program & Event Coordinator for the Annapolis & Anne Arundel County Chamber of Commerce, at 410-266-3960.  Ticket information will be available in December.