Nine students from Broadneck, Severna Park, and South River high schools have been honored with awards from the Anne Arundel Medical Center’s (AAMC) James and Sylvia Earl Simulation to Advance Innovation Learning (SAIL) Center for their extraordinary work during their internships this year at the center.

Broadneck High students Allison Hannahs and Paxton Paganelli and Severna Park High students Sophie Hoekstra, Hannah Krauss, Abby Mandelblatt, Ellie Twigg, and Shawn Yang recently received Certificates of Recognition for their “…outstanding effort and dedication…” facilitating the annual American Urogynecologic Society (AUGS)/International Urogynecological Association (IUGA) Fellow’s surgical workshop in July. At the workshop, the students performed a variety of activities in support of national and international teams of doctors learning and practicing new surgical procedures. This joint meeting served as the largest venue for those in the field of urogynecology and female pelvic medicine and reconstructive surgery to come together for education, networking and sharing.

South River High students Megan Rutkai and Miranda Forbes shared a cash award of $1,000 from the Society of American Gastrointestinal and Endoscopic Surgeons (SAGES) for their video public service announcement encouraging doctors to take online courses from the SAILS Center for surgical recertification. Competing against practicing physicians and medical students on a national level, Meghan and Miranda wrote, filmed, and produced their winning 90-second video at SAILS last summer. Their video has now been entered for additional recognition in another SAGES competition.

The Signature Program student internships were initiated by JoAnne Brack, Signature Program Facilitator at Severna Park High, and Linda Lamon, Signature Program Facilitator at South River High, working with Mr. Ivan George, Director of the James and Sylvia Earl SAIL Center. The program was facilitated through Jill McKay, Internship Coordinator for Severna Park and Broadneck High Schools.

The awards were presented at AAMC’s most recent Board of Directors meeting.