Print This News Release Print This News Release


Sixty-two Anne Arundel County Public Schools (AACPS) educators will be honored at 5:00 p.m. on January 15, 2015, at Annapolis High School for achieving National Board Certified status, the highest teaching credential in the nation, administered by the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards.

This year’s class ranks 12th in the nation among school systems in the number of National Board Certified Teachers, with 44 achieving certification for the first time this year. It brings to 435 (ranked 27th in the nation) the number of educators to earn their initial certification while working in Anne Arundel County, and places AACPS second among Maryland school systems. Eighteen members of the 2014 class achieved their second certification, renewing their original certification after 10 years.

“National Board Certification is a huge accomplishment,” Schools Superintendent George Arlotto said. “This is an achievement about professional reflection, but it also reflects the quality of educator that can be found in hundreds of classrooms across our system. I am so proud of our NBC teachers for their passion and commitment to excellence.”

Anne Arundel’s 2014 class successfully completed rigorous assessments with the assistance of a professional development program offered by the school system. Approximately 100 educators are seeking to earn National Board Certified status this school year.

The following AACPS educators achieved their renewal National Board Certification status in 2014:

  • Rachel Amstutz, Bodkin Elementary School
  • Susan Casler, Crofton Middle School
  • Janet Doherty, Waugh Chapel Elementary School
  • Daniel Fluharty, Meade High School
  • Jennifer Hirschbock, Edgewater Elementary School
  • Monique Jackson, Office of School Performance
  • Vicki Johnson, Lake Shore Elementary School
  • Catherine Maloney, Shady Side Elementary School
  • Laura Martien, Sabbatical
  • Helen Mihm, Crofton Middle School
  • Sheila Norris, Hillsmere Elementary School
  • Brenda Poist, Old Mill High School
  • Tara Rose, Van Bokkelen Elementary School
  • Wendy Smith, Mills-Parole Elementary School
  • Diane Wagner, Severna Park Middle School
  • Debra Witt, Early Childhood and School Readiness Office
  • Barbara Wood, Linthicum Elementary School
  • Dorothy Wysong, Park Elementary School

The following AACPS educators achieved their initial National Board Certification status in 2014:

  • Virginia Allen, Shipley’s Choice Elementary School
  • Coral Bollinger, Old Mill High School
  • Jennifer Boswell, Lake Shore Elementary School
  • Andrew Cizek, Arundel High School
  • Katharine Collins, Seven Oaks Elementary School
  • Iris Crankfield, South River High School
  • Katharine Dean, Lothian Elementary School
  • Sarah Dragan, Southgate Elementary School
  • Caroline Edwards, MacArthur Middle School
  • Tamba Elliott, Riviera Beach Elementary School
  • Margaret Ennis, Right Start Advisor
  • Doreen Fischetti, Crofton Elementary School
  • Jocelyn Fox, Glendale Elementary School
  • Briana Gresko, Southern High School
  • Amanda Hagerman, Southern High School
  • Julianna Hegarty, Special Education Office
  • Elizabeth Hewitt, Jessup Elementary School
  • Kara Holden, Richard Henry Lee Elementary School
  • Jacquelyn Jarrell, Corkran Middle School
  • Allison Johnson, Annapolis Middle School
  • Eileen Keck, Richard Henry Lee Elementary School
  • Karen Knight, Germantown Elementary School
  • Stacy Langhirt, Severna Park Elementary School
  • Walter Lindberg, Brock Bridge/ Pershing Hill Elementary School
  • Dianne Lloyd, Davidsonville Elementary School
  • Nancy May, Ferndale Early Education Center
  • Carla McConnaughhay, Right Start Advisor
  • Jennie Merrill, Severna Park Elementary School
  • Jennifer Mitchell, Shady Side Elementary School
  • Jennifer Montagnino, Center of Applied Technology North
  • Amy Mueller, Health, Physical Education, and Dance Office
  • Lisa Paddy, Annapolis Middle School
  • Lindsey Poro, Ridgeway Elementary School
  • Anita Pusztay, Germantown Elementary School
  • Joanna Ricker, Annapolis Middle School
  • Lisa Sanchez, Quarterfield/Woodside Elementary School
  • Christina Saunders, Annapolis Middle School
  • Angela Sorrem, formerly Oak Hill Elementary School
  • Lacy Swauger, Central Middle School
  • Donna Thompson, Woodside Elementary School
  • Sherrie Ugolini, Windsor Farm Elementary School
  • Brooke Walsh, Annapolis High School
  • Jason Williams, Park Elementary School
  • Deeanne Wright, Crofton Elementary School