Forty-six public school teachers and four private school teachers will be honored on April 15, 2015, as Anne Arundel County Public Schools and the Annapolis & Anne Arundel County Chamber of Commerce celebrate the 29th annual Excellence in Education banquet at the BWI Marriott in Linthicum.

The event will also honor local businesses that have forged critical partnerships with schools across the county, directly benefitting AACPS’ nearly 80,000 students. The evening will culminate with the announcements of the 2015 Anne Arundel County Public and Private School Teachers of the Year.  The Public School Teacher of the Year will represent the county in the Maryland State Teacher of the Year competition.

“Every day across our school system there is magic happening in our classrooms,” Superintendent George Arlotto said. “These educators and their colleagues are the magic makers, moving our students forward with their dedication, passion, and enthusiasm. It is a privilege to be able to honor their hard work annually at this event.”

The following public school educators have been nominated by their schools and communities:

    • Arthur Murphy, Annapolis High School
    • Kasey Poynton, Annapolis Middle School
    • Debbie Knight, Arnold Elementary School
    • Jean Melton Koch, Bates Middle School
    • Sonya Muhitch, Belvedere Elementary School
    • Kristen Duffy, Bodkin Elementary School
    • Meredith Claborn, Broadneck Elementary School
    • Valerie Bennett, Broadneck High School
    • Kelsey Burdette, Brooklyn Park Elementary School
    • Gail Wood, Central Special Education School
    • Donna Fava, Chesapeake Bay Middle School
    • Cher Ann Pitaniello, Chesapeake Science Point Public Charter School
    • Robert Abbott, Crofton Middle School School
    • Meghan Pazmino, Frank Hebron-Harman Elementary School
    • Cathy Mitchell, Freetown Elementary School
    • Angela Speach, Glen Burnie High School
    • Patience Windsor, Glendale Elementary School
    • Koren Donnor, Jessup Elementary School
    • Kristy Wiggins, Jones Elementary School
    • Katherine Slomer, Lindale Middle School
    • Amanda Talbot, Linthicum Elementary School
    • Jeanne Green, Lothian Elementary School
    • Brenda Osborne, MacArthur Middle School
    • Bethany Ann Husak, Marley Middle School
    • Tamara Saxon, Mary E. Moss Academy
    • Christine McCallister, Meade Middle School
    • Karen Pfarr, Monarch Global Academy
    • Gregory Soloman, Northeast High School
    • Patricia McMahon, Old Mill Middle School North
    • Toniann Shaffer, Quarterfield Elementary School
    • Kara Holden, Richard Henry Lee Elementary School
    • Wesley Emlet, Rippling Woods Elementary School
    • Deena Settineri, Rolling Knolls Elementary School
    • Kevin Valenti, Severn River Middle School
    • Jennie Merill, Severna Park Elementary School
    • Andrea Alcombright, Severna Park Middle School
    • Patricia Shryock, Shady Side Elementary School
    • Tamara Chilipko, Solley Elementary School
    • Iris Crankfield, South River High School
    • Marina Thompson, Southern Middle School
    • Rachael Morrison, Southern High School
    • Karen Jones-Lantzy, Tracey’s Elementary School
    • Jamie Gass, Van Bokkelen Elementary School
    • Clare Goggin, West Annapolis Elementary School
    • Kimberly Mason, Windsor Farm Elementary School
    • Katherine Jenkins, Woodside Elementary School


The following private school educators have been nominated by their schools and communities:

  • Catherine Klase-Markey, Archbishop Spalding High School
  • Helen Bradbury, Saint John the Evangelist
  • Virginia Ready, Saint Martin’s in the Field Episcopal School
  • Judy Medeiros, The Summit School

Semifinalists from the field of 41 public school nominees will be announced later this month. Finalists will be chosen from that group and announced in January.

Business partnership nominations can be found at www.aaaccc.org.

Tickets for the event are $55 each.  For sponsorship information and ticket orders, visit www.aaaccc.org. For other information, please call 410-266-3960.