The Board of Education of Anne Arundel County today elected Stacy Korbelak as president and Patricia Nalley as vice president for the 2014-2015 school year.

Korbelak, who was appointed to the Board in July 2012, succeeds Board Member Teresa Milio Birge as president. A resident of Piney Orchard, Korbelak chaired the Board’s ad hoc Superintendent Search Committee over the last year. Outside of the Board, she has served as vice president of the PTA at Piney Orchard Elementary School, and president of the PTA at Arundel Middle School.

Korbelak is an Associate Professor of English composition and literature at Howard Community College (HCC) in Columbia, and coordinator of the college’s Global Distinction program. Prior to joining HCC, she spent more than 15 years in human resources and employee/labor relations with both the federal government and private sector.

Nalley was appointed to the Board in 2007 and reappointed in 2012. The Annapolis resident previously served as president of the Board in the 2010-2011 and 2011-2012 school years. Before joining the Board, she was an elementary school teacher for 31 years and then spent 12 years in elementary administration, retiring as principal of Davidsonville Elementary School after nine years there. She oversaw the opening of the new Davidsonville Elementary School in 2002 and was nominated for The Washington Post’s Distinguished Educational Leadership Award in the same year.

The meeting was the first for new Student Member of the Board Ayesha Chaudhry and for Superintendent George Arlotto, whose terms both began on July 1, 2014. Chaudhry will serve a one-year term as the student member.

Also serving on the Board are Amalie Brandenburg of Severna Park, Kevin Jackson of Edgewater, Deborah Ritchie of Pasadena, and Solon Webb of Annapolis. Board Member Andrew Pruski, who is the Democratic candidate for County Council in District 4, announced his resignation from the Board today. That resignation is effective August 1, 2014.