Superintendent George Arlotto today announced the appointments of three additional people to the Anne Arundel County Public Schools’ Blue Ribbon Commission on Equity and Achievement.

Joining the panel are:

  • Bishop Craig Coates, pastor of Fresh Start Church in Glen Burnie
  • Rev. Sheryl Menendez, pastor of Light of the World Ministries in Annapolis
  • Dr. LaMarr Darnell Shields, chief executive officer of The Cambio Group, an education-based organization that provides consulting, curriculum development and professional development services for individuals, leaders, educators, and businesses.

Bishop Coates and Rev. Menendez have worked with schools and students throughout the county as part of programs designed to provide academic support and increase student achievement. Both had been extended invitations to join the panel by then-Interim Superintendent Mamie J. Perkins, and confirmed their ability to participate after the initial panel was announced.

Dr. Shields has provided professional development for AACPS staff and has extensive experience working with both the African and Hispanic communities on issues surrounding the achievement gap.

“These three individuals will each add unique perspectives and broaden the work of this commission,” Dr. Arlotto said. “They have been in the trenches of this battle, and I am looking forward to their input as well as that of all of the members of this group.”

Other Commission members are:

  • Rev. Carletta Allen, pastor of Asbury United Methodist Church in Annapolis
  • Anthony Alston, Executive Director of Equity and Accelerated Student Achievement, AACPS
  • Betty Collins, Director of Instructional Leadership Support, Montgomery County Public Schools
  • Dr. Virginia Dolan, Coordinator of Behavioral Supports & Interventions, AACPS
  • Mike Durso, retired principal and current Board of Education member, Montgomery County Public Schools
  • Irma Holland, Annapolis resident, Director of Clinical Education at Anne Arundel Medical Center, and original signer of the Office for Civil Rights complaint alleging disparate treatment of African-American students by AACPS
  • Monique Jackson, Director, Office of Continuous School Improvement, AACPS
  • Daryl Jones, Anne Arundel County Councilman, District 1
  • Dr. Kathryn Kubic, Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum and Instruction and former Executive Director of the Instructional Data Division, AACPS
  • Dr. Dawn Lindsay, President, Anne Arundel Community College
  • Helen Mateosky, Principal, Hillsmere Elementary School
  • Enrique Melendez, former member, Board of Education of Anne Arundel County
  • Dr. Elizabeth M. “Betty” Morgan, former superintendent, Washington County Public Schools; 2010 National Superintendent of the Year; and former executive director of GradNation, a dropout prevention program run by America’s Promise Alliance
  • Dr. Yvette Mozie-Ross, Assistant Provost, University of Maryland Baltimore County
  • Janine Robinson, Regional Assistant Superintendent, AACPS
  • Dr. Jack Smith, former superintendent, Calvert County Public Schools; 2013 Maryland Superintendent of the Year; and current Chief Academic Officer, Maryland State Department of Education
  • Pete Smith, former Anne Arundel County Councilman, District 1
  • Mary Tillar, Assistant Superintendent for Advanced Studies and Programs and former Executive Director of Special Education, AACPS
  • Jim Todd, Principal, Old Mill High School
  • Teresa Tudor, Senior Manager of School and Family Partnerships, AACPS
  • Solon Webb, member, Board of Education of Anne Arundel County

The commission will hold its first meeting in mid-September.