Forty-five current Anne Arundel County Public Schools (AACPS) educators are among more than 4,000 nationwide this year to achieve National Board Certified status, the highest teaching credential in the nation, according to data released by the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards.

The county’s class of 2013 ranks 11th in the nation among school systems in the number of National Board Certified Teachers who achieved certification for the first time this year. It brings to 388 the number of educators to earn their initial certification while working in Anne Arundel County, and leaves AACPS second among Maryland school systems. Fourteen members of the 2013 class achieved their second certification, renewing their original certification after 10 years.

“National Board Certification recognizes those who go above and beyond in their quest to better themselves and their delivery of instruction,” Interim Schools Superintendent Mamie J. Perkins said. “These teachers have done exactly that, and their work will be of enormous benefit to untold numbers of children in the years to come. I applaud them for their passion and dedication to AACPS’ most precious resource, our children.”

Anne Arundel’s 2013 class successfully completed rigorous assessments with the assistance of a professional development program offered by the school system. Approximately 100 educators are seeking to earn National Board Certified status this school year.

The following AACPS educators achieved their renewal National Board Certification status in 2013:

  • Kristin Addleman, Marley Elementary School
  • Susan Brown, Central Middle School
  • Beth Anne Burke, Central Elementary School
  • Kelly Fortune, West Annapolis Elementary School
  • Amy G. Furlow, Community and Home-based Services
  • Janet Gonski, Brooklyn Park Middle School
  • Elizabeth A. Heeney, Arundel High School
  • Michelle Laurie, Ft. Smallwood Elementary School
  • Angela Reisler, National Board Certified Teacher Office, AACPS
  • Lynn Cara Schwalje, Central Middle School
  • Judith Nilsen Schmid, Jacobsville Elementary School
  • Tracey L. Spain, Hilltop Elementary School
  • Janice D. Spicknall, South Shore Elementary School
  • Linda Ann Taylor, Overlook Elementary School

The following AACPS educators achieved their initial National Board Certification status in 2013:

  • Emily M. Abell, Richard Henry Lee Elementary School
  • Christie Marie Acri, Tyler Heights Elementary School
  • Nicole Aga, Annapolis Middle School
  • Patricia Ann Beall, Old Mill Middle School North
  • Montserrat Batlle, Mills-Parole Elementary School
  • Maryellen Beck, George Fox Middle School
  • Christina May Bowman, Severna Park High School
  • Kristi Bridges, Corkran Middle School
  • Laura G. Bryer, Cape St. Claire Elementary School
  • Taryn S. Carter, Severn Elementary School
  • Valerie Cielewich, Old Mill High School
  • Virginia Clements, Severna Park Middle School
  • Christina Cooper, Central Elementary School
  • Allison Davis, Severna Park High School
  • Carrie L. W. Deaver, Pasadena Elementary School
  • Peter Farrell, Meade High School
  • Shana Grace Donahue, Cape St. Claire Elementary School
  • Lisa M. Gahs, Oakwood Elementary School
  • Nancy Hack-Behringer, Mayo Elementary School
  • Mary Elizabeth Higdon, Park Elementary School
  • Jessica L. Howell, Manor View Elementary School
  • Jenna Lerro, Annapolis Middle School
  • Karen L. Maynard, Marley Middle School
  • Laura Moss, Belvedere Elementary School
  • Cheryl Lyn Mullis, Belvedere Elementary School
  • Mary Rathlev, Severn River Middle School
  • Lorena A. Swepston, Annapolis Middle School
  • Stephanie Theriault, Broadneck Elementary School
  • Becky Truly, Crofton Woods Elementary School
  • Carly Webb, Georgetown East Elementary School
  • Brenna M. Wojno, Davidsonville Elementary School

“Our county has a great educational system, and these teachers are a prime example of what makes it great,” County Executive Laura Neuman said. “The amount of work that it takes to achieve this certification is impressive, and we owe these teachers and the many others who do so much for our children every day a great deal of gratitude.”

Educators who achieved initial or renewal National Board Certification will be honored at a ceremony on January 15, 2014, at Annapolis High School.