Fifteen educators from all levels of the public school system were named today as semifinalists for the 2014 Anne Arundel County Public Schools Teacher of the Year award by AACPS and the Annapolis and Anne Arundel County Chamber of Commerce.  Eight of the educators are elementary school teachers, four teach at middle schools, and three teach at the high school level. Eight of the county’s 12 high school clusters are represented by semifinalists.

The semifinalists are:

  • Rebecca Bittman, North County High School
  • Julie Ciotola, Glendale Elementary School
  • Rachel Fitzgerald, Marley Middle School
  • Susan Grieve, Folger McKinsey Elementary School
  • Christina Houstian, Broadneck High School
  • Jessica Howell, Manor View Elementary School
  • Stacy Kearns, Corkran Middle School
  • Dianne Lloyd, Davidsonville Elementary School
  • Suzanne MacLeod, Linthicum Elementary School
  • Robert Mauro, Lindale Middle School
  • Amy Mueller, Marley Elementary School
  • Susan Marie Sheehy, Millersville Elementary School
  • Jennifer Swiech, Meade Middle School
  • Stacey Walczak, Seven Oaks Elementary School
  • Brad Wray, Arundel High School

A group of 53 Anne Arundel County public school teachers and three private school teachers will be honored at the 28th annual Excellence in Education banquet at the BWI Marriott in Linthicum on April 10, 2014. Five finalists for the 2014 Anne Arundel County Public Schools Teacher of the Year award will be announced in February. The winner will represent the county in the Maryland State Teacher of the Year competition.

The private school teachers who will vie for the 2014 Private School Teacher of the Year award are:

  • Amy Brunner, Archbishop Spalding High School
  • Erin Kolarik, St. Martin’s Lutheran School
  • Matthew Martelli, St. Mary’s High School

The event, presented in partnership by Anne Arundel County Public Schools and the Annapolis and Anne Arundel County Chamber of Commerce, will also honor local business and community partners that have forged critical partnerships with schools across the county, directly benefiting AACPS’ nearly 79,000 students.

Other teachers to be honored at the event are:

  • Lyniper Al-Os, Annapolis High School
  • Kenneth Baker, Bodkin Elementary School
  • Michelle April Ballenger, Georgetown East Elementary School
  • Jane Bounelis, Arnold Elementary School
  • Brad Bower, Crofton Middle School
  • Alyson Bradford, Odenton Elementary School
  • Shannon Brown, Jones Elementary School
  • Julie Castillo, Lothian Elementary School
  • Jamie Chestnut, Oakwood Elementary School
  • David A. Christopher, Old Mill Middle School North
  • Laura Christopher, Brooklyn Park Elementary School
  • Carol Cox, George T. Cromwell Elementary School
  • Michael Cservek, Severna Park Middle School
  • Allison Ellis, Glen Burnie High School
  • Damian Ferragamo, Old Mill High School
  • Jennifer Figueroa, Chesapeake High School
  • Joanne Francis, Severn River Middle School
  • Vanessa Gilbert, Freetown Elementary School
  • Lindsey Hammond, Quarterfield Elementary School
  • Rose Catharine Hammond, Ruth Parker Eason Special School
  • Linsey Haughton, Windsor Farm Elementary School
  • Elizabeth Hewitt, Jessup Elementary School
  • Eileen Keck, Richard Henry Lee Elementary School
  • Rachel Long, Wiley H. Bates Middle School
  • Jill Manning, Mary Moss Academy
  • Amanda Mays, Lake Shore Elementary School
  • Cynthia McNeel Jacoby, Severna Park Elementary School
  • Patricia Medeiros, Tracey’s Elementary School
  • Jennifer Suzanne Mobley, Mayo Elementary School
  • Jane Newton, Southern Middle School
  • Jessica Nolan, Frank Hebron-Harman Elementary School
  • Melissa Norwood, Southern High School
  • Rebecca Pope, Crofton Elementary School
  • Colette Preis, Central Special School
  • Benjamin Thompson, George Fox Middle School
  • Sherise Webb, North Glen Elementary School
  • Joshua Webster, Solley Elementary School
  • Jacqueline Wilford, Northeast High School

Business partnership nominations can be found at www.aaaccc.org.

Tickets for the event are $55 each.  For sponsorship information and ticket orders, visit www.aaaccc.org. For other information, please call 410-266-3960.